Dutch Darts Championship

5 min read


An emotional Josh Rock clinched his maiden European Tour title in Rosmalen on Sunday, defeating Jonny Clayton 8-4 to lift the Elten Safety Shoes Dutch Darts Championship. Former World Youth Champion Rock celebrated his second PDC ranking title on a landmark night in the Netherlands, toppling Clayton to pocket the £30,000 top prize at the Autotron.

The Northern Irishman lost out to Clayton in his only previous European Tour final in April 2023, although he avenged that result in style to move up to a career-high of 18th on the PDC Order of Merit.

Rock kicked off his campaign with a 104 average in his second round win over Dutch number three Dirk van Duijvenbode, before recovering from 5-3 down to deny Cameron Menzies in the last 16.
The 23-year-old converted 119 and 145 finishes in a 6-3 quarter-final win over Gerwyn Price, and he booked his place in Sunday’s showpiece by reeling off six straight legs to dispatch Martin Schindler.

Rock – who will make his debut at next month’s World Cup of Darts – then capped off a breakthrough weekend with a battling victory over Clayton, to become the sixth different winner in seven European Tour events in 2024.

The PDC European Tour returns next month, as the NEO.bet European Darts Open takes place at the Ostermann-Arena, Leverkusen from June 21-23. The tournament will be broadcast live on Viaplay, DAZN and PDCTV (excluding Germany, Austria and Switzerland) and through bookmakers' websites worldwide.

Elten Safety Shoes Dutch Darts Championship
Sunday May 26

Third Round
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Ryan Searle 6-1 Jeffrey de Graaf
Danny Noppert 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Chris Dobey
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Martin Schindler 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Gian van Veen
Josh Rock 6-5 Cameron Menzies

Jonny Clayton 6-2 Ryan Searle
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Danny Noppert
Martin Schindler 6-5 Luke Woodhouse
Josh Rock 6-3 Gerwyn Price

Jonny Clayton 7-6 Michael van Gerwen
Josh Rock 7-3 Martin Schindler

Josh Rock 8-4 Jonny Clayton